Chancellor's Award for Postdoctoral Research

Each year, 6-8 UCLA postdoctoral scholars are selected from more than 1,000 postdocs on campus to receive the prestigious Chancellor's Award. We are proud that many postdocs in Psychology have received this award.

Benjamin A. Tabak receiving the 2015 Chancellor's Award
Benjamin A. Tabak receiving the 2015 Chancellor's Award

  • 2015 Benjamin A. Tabak - Psychology
  • 2013 Jennifer Hahn-Holbroook - Psychology
  • 2011 Kate Wolitzky-Taylor - Psychology
  • 2010 Francisco Javier Sánchez - Human Genetics & Psychology
  • 2008 Nate Kornell - Psychology
  • 2007 Naomi Eisenberger – Psychoneuroimmunology
  • 2006 Adam Aron - Psychology
  • 2003 David Sherman - Psychology
  • 1998 Shannon Daley - Psychology

Best Paper in Psychology Award

The UCLA Psychology Department is pleased to announce the annual award recognizing the best paper by a Postdoctoral Scholar in Psychology.

For 2018, the submission deadline is Friday, April 6, 2018 at 5:00pm PST. The recipient will be selected by the faculty members of the UCLA Psychology Postdoctoral Scholar Committee. The award includes a prize of $100. The recipient will be notified by early June and honored at our annual awards reception in June.

Eligibility Criteria for 2018 Award

The Postdoctoral scholar must be employed in the Psychology Department or work with a faculty member in Psychology while appointed in another program (e.g. Neuroscience, Education).

The Postdoctoral Scholar must be the first author on the paper. If the Postdoc's employment is outside of Psychology, the paper should be single authored or have a Psychology faculty member as a co-author.

The paper must have been published, accepted for publication, or under review between January 1, 2018 and April 6, 2018 in a peer-reviewed journal.

The paper should reflect EMPIRICAL psychological research conducted by the author while a Postdoc at UCLA (not work done prior to the postdoc).

The Postdoctoral Scholar should expect to be affiliated with UCLA in June 2018.

Submission Guidelines

Please email a PDF of your published or submitted paper to Lisa Lee, Graduate Advising Supervisor, at by April 6, 2018, 5:00pm PST.

Previous Award Recipients

2017: The recipient of the award was Shulamite Green for her paper, “Sensory over-responsivity and social cognition in ASD: Effects of aversive sensory stimuli and attentional modulation on neural responses to social cues” written with Professor Susan Bookheimer and published in ELSEVIER in 2017.

2016: The recipient of the award was Megan Peters for her paper, "Human observers have optimal introspective access to perceptual processes even for visually masked stimuli," written with Professor Hakwan Lau and published in eLIFE in 2015.

2015: The recipient of the award was Nicholas C. Soderstrom for his paper, "Testing facilities the regulation of subsequent study time," written with Professor Robert A. Bjork and published in the Journey of Memory and Language in 2014.

2014: The recipient of the award was Steven M. Thurman for his paper, "Physical and Biological Constraints Govern Perceived Animacy of Scrambled Human Forms," written with Professor Hongjing Lu and published in Psychological Science in 2013.